The Green Knight

This has been on my radar for a while. I really enjoyed David Lowery’s A Ghost Story so I was looking forward to see what The Green Knight would be like it. The American reviews for it got me even more hyped. I watched it in the way it was intended… on my laptop.

The film looked amazing for what I could tell from my laptop screen. Sometimes it looked awful especially during the scenes with fog or mist. I think it would be harsh to put that on the film’s fault. It was probably due to the compression of the image onto my laptop screen.

Dev Patel is fantastic as Sir Gawain. He has the right vibe for someone trying to prove themselves worthy of the respect of the people around him. I’m not sure if that’s a compliment but I mean it as one. Ralph Ineson is great as The Green Knight. He has a good husky voice for such a character. The performance is also helped by some amazing sound design.

I really liked the score. I think it set a good atmosphere for the events at play. Probably would’ve got me immersed in the film if I saw it in a cinema and not on a laptop. I’m starting to think I should’ve just seen this at cinema. Should’ve just coughed up the cash for better experience rather than whinging here.

The slow pace of the film works well with the story of someone heading towards their own death. You can feel the tension of someone who knows their fate is sealed but wants to make sure that they face it with a strong spirit so that their death is on their terms.

The Green Knight is a great film that probably would be better appreciated on a cinema screen rather than a TV or a laptop. I don’t think I got a good enough sense of the film in my viewing of it but enjoyed the performances, visual and score as much as I could.

Leave a comment