There Are Too Many Streaming Services!

IMG_7629

I’m really struggling to keep up with all the streaming services that are available. We’ve got Netflix, Now TV, Amazon Prime, Hulu, Crunchyroll, DC Universe, I guess YouTube is and we’re getting Disney+ and Apple TV+ later this year. There is just too much to watch and at the same time, not a lot to watch. When Netflix first came about, I was watching all the Marvel Netflix shows and Stranger Things religiously but now I haven’t watched a Marvel Netflix show since The Defenders and I haven’t started watching Stranger Things Season 3. It’s not even like I use those other services, I only started using Amazon Prime recently to watch Good Omens (which I haven’t finished) and The Boys.

I’m not even sure if Hulu is available in the UK. The main reason I started this post was because I was looking for Plus One, starring Jack Quaid from The Boys, and I couldn’t find it on any of the streaming services or iTunes then I found out it’s on Hulu which I don’t have and don’t want to get because I have too many already! I have this a lot where you have a film in mind that you want to watch and you assume that it has to be on one of the three streaming services you have, those being Netflix, Amazon Prime and Now TV, but nope! They don’t have that film you want to watch. I think this is especially the case with films before 2000, Now TV is pretty good for older films but that’s because it just puts whatever films are shown on Sky Movies on and they cater to a TV audience who are older so they are probably more likely to watch older films than my generation.

Disney-Plus-interface-920x518

Disney Plus is coming out soon, they will be producing new Marvel and Star Wars shows so of course, I have to get it. The problem is that I think my current three are already a lot and I’ll be worried that my use of the others might go down as a result of Disney Plus so will it be worth having them all. Now TV is good for films both old and new. Netflix produces some poor stuff but then it’ll produce new films by Martin Scorsese and Steven Soderbergh as well as quality TV shows like Bojack Horseman, Stranger Things and The Umbrella Academy. Amazon Prime is the new one I’ve started using more. I’ve started watching a few of their original shows like The Boys, The Tick and Good Omens as well as watching films like The King of Comedy on it.

All this is to say that all these streaming services are producing quality content as well as getting the rights to TV shows and films to host on their sites. I think the main downside is that it is so hard to watch it all. Whenever I find something I want to watch, if I don’t watch it straightaway then I probably won’t watch it because I’ll have found something else to watch. I’ll probably get Disney Plus and keep all the streaming services because they offer a variety of different things. Just don’t make anymore streaming services after Disney Plus!

 

Leave a comment